RSS

“Generating grub.cfg” won’t finish….

13 Aug

A brand new installation of Kubuntu 10.04 always requires updates, including an updated kernel. The new kernel forces synaptic to run grub-update. My problem was that it just wouldn’t finish! It would hang at “Generating grub.cfg.” I finally figured out: unplug the usb cable to my printer, which has an SD slot in it for picture cards. Once I did that, and did a “sudo dpkg –configure -a” in Konsole, the update could finish as normal. I wonder if that is what made Mint 9 KDE installation keep halting at “Looking for other operating systems…” Hmmm. I’ll have to give that a try…

Update: I tried the Mint installation again, but I had to physically disconnect my second hard drive (where I keep my /home directory) and install to the entire first hard drive (no more Kubuntu) before I could get it to install completely. I kept getting stuck at “looking for other OS’s… ” when it was trying to install grub to the main hard drive’s MBR (master boot record). And THEN, as soon as I went to update the new Mint, I was stuck again at “generating grub.cfg… ” The workaround I finally found (somewhere on Ubuntu forums, I think) was to append this line to the bottom of /etc/default/grub:

GRUB_DISABLE_OS_PROBER=true

Then I was able to reboot, update through Synaptic, and it configured the new kernel, updated grub.cfg, etc. without a hiccup.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to ““Generating grub.cfg” won’t finish….

  1. Rimedi della Nonna

    October 15, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I am installing Ubuntu 11.10 on my 4core brand new pc and: stuck in generating grub.conf!!!
    I read your post -> unplug printer -> works!
    Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!
    blackkitten

     
  2. Nate R

    December 9, 2011 at 3:12 am

    Had the same problem with an external USB drive. Read this, unplugged, problem solved. Thanks

     
  3. Erik Verheul

    December 15, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    When updating to version 11.10 I unplugged the USB keyboard and mouse. Now the installation continued after being halted for hours.
    Thanks for the tip.

     
  4. Charles Stepp

    February 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Is it fixed yet, is it fixed yet, is it fixed yet, is it…

     
  5. wouter

    December 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    I had the same problem just now when installing kubuntu 12.10. I just waited for a veery long time and it finished anyway.

    I’m now going to reboot in it, hope it works:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

