RSS

What you can do with Blender…

28 Oct


I got inspired a few days ago to complete a digital chessboard project that I started many moons ago. I had done the chessboard itself, attempting to replicate one that I had built for my family back in the 1990’s. But with the digital version of the board done, it kind of sat there forgotten for the better part of a year, I think. Anyway, here is the completed set, rendered out in full HD (click on the preview above). I’m rather pleased with the results! A few more tweaks with lighting, add a little environment, like a table, a window, a cup of coffee… and “checkmate!”

Just in case you think this is an actual photograph, here’s a little evidence to the contrary…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 28, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “What you can do with Blender…

  1. PHiSH

    December 21, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Hey: How long did this take you to complete?

    (i use autodesk maya 2008, and ive tried the new blender and it really sucks)

    that would take about 1–2 hour in maya to complete.

     
  2. eyemeansit

    December 22, 2008 at 1:10 am

    Well… probably 10 or 15 times as long as you estimate it would take you to do it in Maya. I know nothing about Maya, and really not much about 3D modeling at all. I’m sure someone who was really good with Blender could do this much faster than I did. Here’s a link (http://www.vimeo.com/1718531) to a video of a much better chessboard by Robert Burke, the writer of the Precision Modeling Guide over at rab3d.com. He does some cool stuff in there that I’d like to learn.

    I’m sorry you didn’t like Blender. Thanks for stopping by!

    Les

     

Leave a Reply

 
