RSS

Using KPhotoAlbum

14 Nov

I have a couple of nights off from work, so tonight I am biting the bullet and starting the monumental task of tagging my digital image collection. As I explained in previous posts, I will be using KPhotoAlbum, which is very likely the most efficient tool for photo tagging in existence. However, it is still work!.

Now that I have the great majority of my images renamed by date and time taken, when I open KPhotoAlbum, (after allowing it to do its initial indexing, and after watching the introductory videos, of course!), it brings me to the “home” page:

As you can see, there are several “super categories” listed on the left. Clicking on “Places” allows me to see all the sub categories.

Clicking on a subcategory will select all pictures with that tag, and display how many are in the current selection in the “Show Thumbnails” line.showthumbnails Clicking “Show Thumbnails” at any point will give you a display of all the pictures in your current selection.This is how you can quickly drill down to exactly the pictures you are looking for.

KPhotoAlbum is a great tool for KDE 3.5.x. Rumor has it that it is being overhauled for

KDE4. I look forward to seeing the new version.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
