RSS

Fedora 10 looking better to me now…

12 Dec

… now that I have discovered Yumex!

I was searching all over for how to make Synaptic work. Knowing that Synaptic needed some direction as to where to go to fetch software packages, normally supplied via /etc/apt/sources.list, I found that Fedora 10’s sources.list is empty, likely due to their preference for Kpackagekit or Yum. Kpackagekit, as I have described previously, simply wasn’t working for me. I like to be able to browse, and it either doesn’t provide that option, or I was missing it somehow. Yum didn’t cut it for me for the same reason, being that it is a command-line program.

Enter: Yumex! (Yum Extender). This looks to me as though it will do the job. Actually, it IS currently doing the job… downloading 135 packages, that is… everything from Blender to GIMP to VLC… you know… the stuff I like to play with. Yumex gives a pretty nice interface somewhat similar to Synaptic in that it gives you several ways to sort and browse available packages, gives a description of each, and gives continuous visual feedback to what is happening in the download/installation process.

Nice!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
