RSS

My 2nd Fedora 10 installation this week…

13 Dec

… on the same machine!

I was enjoying my newly discovered Yumex Thursday night, and chose to let it do a bunch of upgrades. Additionally, I thought I’d try downloading the newest Nvidia driver for my GeForce 6150 SE onboard video. Unfortunately, that little mistake “borked” my Fedora 10 installation. I tried copying my xorg.conf file over from Mepis 8 to Fedora, but no joy. I tried doing another yum update by booting up Fedora into runlevel 3 (command-line mode), but that didn’t do it either. Then I tried removing all nvidia related packages from the command line, but that didn’t help either. (Somewhere I saw an error message saying “nvidia.ko for kernel 2.6.27.5-117.fc10.x86_64 was not found.”)

The bottom line is, since I’m not much of a command line hacker, I reinstalled Fedora 10, updated 140 packages with yum from runlevel 3 (KDE was going to be updated from 4.1.2 to 4.1.3), and now I’m back in business with yumex, etc.

I think I’ll read up on the nvidia issue before trying that again. I really seem to need the proprietary drivers, as the desktop seems a little slow to respond to mouse clicks, etc.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
