RSS

Fedora 10 / KDE 4.1.3 screenshot…

17 Dec
KDE 4.1.3 on Fedora 10

KDE 4.1.3 on Fedora 10

I’m “settling in” with Fedora 10 as my main distro, and learning how to operate in this “non-Debian” environment. As I mentioned previously, Yumex has been a big help. Another application I wish I had found sooner is “Autoten,” which will automatically install things like Google Earth, multimedia codecs, Nvidia drivers, etc. That would have saved me a bunch of time and frustration.

I do appreciate having a distro that includes KDE 4.1 in the repositories, which is my only dissatisfaction with Mepis 8. It seems to me that the bulk of development effort in KDE apps these days is in the KDE 4 direction, and I am glad to have made the switch.

Probably my next desktop project will be to see about porting my email back into the KDE 4 version of Kmail (from Thunderbird). KDE PIM is a well integrated mail/calendar/newsreader suite. Now I find myself wondering why I left Kmail in the first place? Hmmm… I’ll have to read back a ways in this blog… oh yeah, it was just “wanderlust.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
