RSS

Restoring a lost KDE4 panel that won’t unhide…

17 Jun

I recently tried to “autohide” my desktop panel in KDE4 (Mepis 8.5, 64-bit). To my consternation, it would not “unhide” when I approached the bottom edge with my cursor, even after rebooting. I could see a little shadow, as though it was thinking about coming up, but it didn’t happen.

Here’s the fix, assuming you have some folder on your desktop that will allow you to open up Dolphin:

Navigate to /home//.kde/share/config/plasma-desktoprc

Look for a line in that file that says “panelVisibility=1”. Change it to “panelVisibility=0”

Save the file, and reboot (right-click on the desktop… it should give you an option to “Leave”)

That should get you going again… at least it did for me.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Restoring a lost KDE4 panel that won’t unhide…

  1. Ron

    April 28, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Thank you soooooooo much for this post. I was starting to wonder if I would ever get my panel back. Worked like a charm for me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
